2019 Election results in new Chief and Council

September 20, 2019

A final count of ballots is complete in the Westbank First Nation (WFN) election held September 19, 2019, and results include a new Chief, Chris Derickson, plus returning (2016-2019) Councillor Fernanda Alexander, former (2010-2013) Councillor Lorrie Hogaboam and new Councillors Jordan Coble and Andrea Alexander. Chris Derickson, who has held a seat as Councillor since 2012, defeated incumbent Roxanne Lindley, WFN's first female Chief, 200 to 174 in voting. 

"I am honoured to have been elected Chief by the Members of my community, and I look forward to working with the new Council," says Chief Derickson. "This is a strong and diverse Council with some new young leaders and WFN Members made history again this election by electing three women to office.

WFN is known for its progressive nature, and we are excited to continue to do our part in working with our Members to build a great community that’s grounded in syilx culture and language, while contributing to the local economy and our neighbouring municipalities. I want to thank and recognize the hard work of past Councils, and I thank our community for the opportunity to lead our Government over the next three years."

The 2019 election saw 377 votes cast with one ballot being rejected, out of 631 eligible voters, a 60 per cent voter turnout. Council will be sworn in at an Oath of Office meeting, Tuesday September 24, 2019, for a three-year term. 

Click HERE for official Election Results  
NOTE: Chris' legal last name is spelled with two r's, however he has always spelled it with one r

Click here for Council biographies and photos: www.wfn.ca/your-government/council/council-biographies.htm