No Speculation Tax to be Paid on WFN Lands

Westbank First Nation lands are not a designated taxable region and are exempt from speculation and vacancy tax. 

Non-member residents who choose to reside on WFN lands will be exempt from the newly adopted legislation. Reserve lands, treaty lands and lands of self-governing Indigenous Nations are not part of the taxable regions.

There are scenarios where residential properties located in a taxable region can be exempt. These include residential properties owned by:

  • An Indigenous Nation
  • Municipality, regional district, government and other public bodies
  • Registered Charities 
  • Housing Co-ops
  • Certain not-for-profit organizations

More information on WFN Property Taxes.

The Provincial Government website includes information on speculation tax and the regions in which exemption applies.